RNC Committee Censures Cheney and Kinzinger

The resolution’s passage was confirmed to The Hill by two sources familiar with the matter. The RNC’s full body will likely vote to approve the censure on Friday at its winter meeting

The resolution criticizes Cheney’s and Kinzinger’s involvement in the House select committee investigating the Jan. 6, 2021, attack on the Capitol, of which they are the only two Republican members.

“This is not about them being anti-Trump,” Harmeet Dhillon, a national committee member from California and one of the sponsors of the resolution, told Politico. “There are plenty of other people in the party who are anti-Trump whose names don’t appear in the resolution. These two took specific action to defy party leadership.”

The resolution that advanced Thursday is a weaker rebuke of the two lawmakers than that initially put forward by two-time Trump campaign adviser David Bossie at the RNC’s annual meeting this week, which called for Cheney’s and Kinzinger’s ouster from the House conference.

This comes nearly a year after Cheney was removed from the House GOP leadership last year after she voted to impeach Trump for inciting the deadly Jan. 6 attack.

In a statement on the RNC resolution, Kinzinger said he is now “even more committed to fighting conspiracies and lies.”

“I’ve been a member of the Republican Party before Donald Trump entered the field,” he said. “My values and core beliefs remain the same and have not wavered. I’m a conservative who believes in truth, freedom, and upholding the Constitution of the United States.”

He slammed the committee for choosing to censure “two lifelong Members of their party for simply upholding their oaths of office” rather than focusing “on how to help the American people.”

“They’ve allowed conspiracies and toxic tribalism hinder their ability to see clear-eyed,” he continued. “My efforts will continue to be focused on standing up for the truth and working to fight the political matrix that’s led us to this point.”

Cheney criticized Republican party leadership in a statement, saying they had “made themselves willing hostages to a man who admits he tried to overturn a presidential election and suggests he would pardon Jan. 6 defendants, some of whom have been charged with seditious conspiracy.”

“I’m a constitutional conservative and I do not recognize those in my party who have abandoned the Constitution to embrace Donald Trump,” she said. “History will be their judge. I will never stop fighting for our constitutional republic. No matter what.”

“The RNC is censuring Liz Cheney and Adam Kinzinger because they are trying to find out what happened on January 6th – HUH?” he wrote.

The resolution also faced pushback from some RNC members who called the effort a distraction.

“What’s sad is that a year after the attack on the Capitol, the RNC has yet to condemn those who participated in the riot,” committee member Bill Palatucci of New Jersey, who was in the room when the resolution passed, told The Hill. “The censure…is just a distracting sideshow.”

Original Article: RNC committee advances resolution to censure Cheney, Kinzinger

4 thoughts on “RNC Committee Censures Cheney and Kinzinger

Add yours

  1. I took President Trumps statement to indicate that if he would possibly pardon “some” of the people that were arrested and charged. He would consider it…he did not say he would pardon all of them. They are only hearing what they want to hear.

  2. Thats quite a pair but there are a lot of RINO’s these are just 2 of the most vocal. Get rid of them all.

  3. The full list of Republican lawmakers who voted in favor of the January 6 commission is as follows: Rep. Don Bacon (NE); Rep. Cliff Bentz (OR); Rep. Stephanie Bice (OK); Rep. Liz Cheney (WY); Rep. John Curtis (UT); Rep. Rodney Davis (IL); Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick (PA); Rep. Jeff Fortenberry (NE); Rep. Andrew Garbarino (NY).
    Rep. Carlos Gimenez (FL); Rep. Tony Gonzales (TX); Rep. Anthony Gonzalez (OH); Rep. Michael Guest (MS); Rep. Jaime Herrera Beutler (WA); Rep. French Hill (AR); Rep. Trey Hollingsworth (IN); Rep. Chris Jacobs (NY); Rep. Dusty Johnson (SD); Rep. David Joyce (OH); Rep. John Katko (NY).
    Rep. Adam Kinzinger (IL); Rep. David McKinley (WV); Rep. Peter Meijer (MI); Rep. Mariannette Miller-Meeks (IA); Rep. Blake Moore (UT); Rep. Dan Newhouse (WA); Rep. Tom Reed (NY); Rep. Tom Rice (SC); Rep. Maria Salazar (FL); Rep. Mike Simpson (ID); Rep. Chris Smith (NJ); Rep. Van Taylor (TX); Rep. Fred Upton (MI); Rep. David Valadao (CA); Rep. Steve Womack (AR).

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑